Your Team is a Temple

“Maybe people don’t notice every single individual detail, but in aggregate, they’re powerful.” ― Will Guidara, in “Unreasonable Hospitality”

“Maybe people don’t notice every single individual detail, but in aggregate, they’re powerful.” ― Will Guidara, in “Unreasonable Hospitality”

Daitokuji is a sprawling temple complex that covers several city blocks of real estate in Kyoto, Japan. Founded in 1315, it is a magical combination of a religious site, garden, museum, and university. Trees tower over ancient buildings; walking the grounds can transport you back in time.

In 1990, when I was 25, I lived near the temple for a year and meditated there almost every morning. I’d wake before dawn and cycle to a crumbling ancient wall at the back of the complex, where I’d pass through a narrow and creaky wooden door into one of Daitokuji’s many small sub-temples.

Inside was a tiny well-kept garden with a few buildings around it, including a residence for Taiun, the keeper of the space, a library with books in many languages, and a zendo or mediation building.

I’d walk the garden path to the zendo, where I’d remove my shoes, bow, enter, and join a group of five or ten people. We’d chant and meditate. Then, we’d drink tea, talk, and do some gardening or cleaning before getting on with our days.

I recently watched the “Forks” episode of The Bear (the one where Richie staged at a Michelin Star restaurant), and it reminded me of the attention to ritual and detail at Daitokuji and the many other zen temples I spent time in during the early ‘90s. We’d stack books, tend garden, sweep floors, and light incense with the same care that Richie wiped smudges from piles of forks. Respect and dignity are the hallmarks of both cultures.

Both high-end restaurants and Zen require attention to detail and a systemic or ritualized approach. So do leadership teams.

Leadership is a quality often assigned to people who are flashy, eloquent, and inspiring — but those are nice-to-haves, not essentials.

What is essential is consistency and attention to detail; this is especially true when it comes to meetings. When I help leadership teams build and manage their operating rhythm of standing meetings, I do it with attention to the small things because I know that when we get these moments right, the bigger pieces fall into place.

— Bob Gower

PS If you’re ready to improve the performance of your team or company, hit reply, and let’s talk.